11th TEAR Workshop 2016, Vienna

The 11th TEAR workshop is organized in conjunction with IEEE EDOC 2016, September 5-9, Vienna, Austria.

The international TEAR workshop series brings together Enterprise Architecture (EA) researchers from different research communities and provides a forum to present EA research results and to discuss future EA research directions.

The field of Enterprise Architecture (EA) has gained considerable attention over the last years. EA is important because organizations need to adapt increasingly fast to changing customer requirements and business goals. This need influences the entire chain of activities of an enterprise, from business processes to IT support. Moreover, a change in a particular part of the overall architecture may influence many other parts of the architecture. For example, when a new product is introduced, business processes for production, sales and after-sales need to be adapted. It might be necessary to change applications, or even adapt the IT infrastructure. Each of these fields will have its own (partial) architectures. To keep the enterprise architecture coherent and aligned with the business goals, the relations between these different architectures must be explicit, and a change should be carried through methodically in all architectures. In contrast to traditional architecture management approaches such as IT architecture, software architecture or IS architecture, EA explicitly incorporates “pure” business-related artifacts in addition to traditional IS/IT artifacts. For Enterprise Architecture the focus is on the overall enterprise and concerns its organization, its components, the relationship between components and principles governing its design and evolution.


Topics relevant for submissions include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Case studies on EA
  • Combining BPM and EA
  • Drivers and obstacles of EA dissemination
  • EA and e-government
  • EA and organizational theory
  • EA and system development
  • EA and capability-based planning
  • EA business cases
  • EA communication and marketing
  • EA for small and medium-sized companies
  • EA governance and integration into corporate/IT governance
  • EA reference models, meta models and frameworks
  • EA usage in corporate strategic planning
  • Enterprise modeling, EA and MDA
  • Evolution of an EA
  • Incorporation of knowledge management and software engineering in EA
  • Measurement, metrics, and maturity models for EA artifacts and processes
  • Methodologies and research theory for EA research
  • Processes and patterns for EA development, mastering, communication and enforcement
  • Quality of EA models
  • Tool support for EA
  • Viewpoints in EA
  • EA analysis for decision-making, particularly for investments
  • Architectural Thinking in day-to-day decision making
  • Investigations of the EA needs of decision-makers
  • EA in the context of extended enterprises and large ecosystems
  • Managing a growing scope of concerns: legal, compliance, social, security, etc.
  • EA in the context of complexity and uncertainty
  • EA and the creation of EA research and teaching centers
  • Collaboration and sense-making in the context of EA
  • EA methods and tools that go beyond traditional software engineering
  • Experimenting with novel modelling and simulation approaches

Important dates

Workshop paper submission deadline: April 15, 2016 April 24, 2016
Workshop paper notification to authors: June 13, 2016
Camera-ready paper: July 1, 2016
Workshop: September 5 or 6, 2016


Papers should describe innovative and significant original research relevant to TEAR as described in the topics section. Papers submitted for consideration must not have been published elsewhere and must not be under review or submitted for review elsewhere during the duration of consideration.

Workshop papers will be published in a second volume of the EDOC 2016 conference proceedings.

All papers must be prepared in accordance with the IEEE double-column format (maximum 8 pages) and be submitted electronically (in PDF) via the submission website.

All submissions should include title, authors, and full contact information. Detailed instructions for authors are available on the IEEE website.

Workshop co-chairs

  • Ulrik Franke, Swedish Institute of Computer Science (SICS), Stockholm, Sweden
  • James Lapalme, École de technologie supérieure, Canada
  • Stephan Aier, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland

Steering committee

  • Erik Proper, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), Luxembourg
  • Florian Matthes, Fakultät für Informatik, Technische Universität München, Germany
  • James Lapalme, École de technologie supérieure, Canada
  • João Paulo Almeida, Federal University of Espírito Santo, Brazil
  • Marc Lankhorst, BiZZdesign, the Netherlands
  • Mathias Ekstedt, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Pontus Johnson, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Stephan Aier, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland

Program committee

  • Stephan Aier, University of St. Gallen
  • Antonia Albani, University of St. Gallen
  • João Paulo Almeida, Federal University of Espirito Santo
  • Giuseppe Berio, Université de Bretagne Sud
  • Markus Borg, Swedish Institute of Computer Science (SICS)
  • Nacer Boudjlida, Université de Lorraine, LORIA
  • Sabine Buckl, Technische Universität München
  • Neo Bui, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Markus Buschle, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • François Coallier, École de technologie supérieure
  • Sybren de Kinderen, University of Luxembourg
  • Rebecca Deneckere, Centre de Recherche en Informatique
  • Mathias Ekstedt, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Hans-Georg Fill, University of Vienna
  • Ulrik Franke, Swedish Institute of Computer Science (SICS)
  • Daniel Fürstenau, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Aurona Gerber, CAIR, Meraka Institute, CSIR
  • Jānis Grabis, Riga Technical University
  • Kazem Haki, University of St. Gallen
  • Maria-Eugenia Iacob, University of Twente
  • Pontus Johnson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Juergen Jung, DHL Global Mail
  • Elena Kornyshova, CNAM
  • Robert Lagerström, KTH the Royal Institute of Technology
  • Patricia Lago, VU University Amsterdam
  • Marc Lankhorst, BiZZdesign
  • James Lapalme, Ecole de technologie superieure
  • Christine Legner, University of Lausanne
  • Peter Loos, IWi at DFKI, Saarland University
  • Pericles Loucopoulos, The University of Manchester
  • Florian Matthes, Technische Universität München
  • Alexandre Moise, Université de Sherbrooke
  • Agnes Nakakawa, Makerere University Kampala
  • Selmin Nurcan, Université de Paris 1 Panthéon – Sorbonne
  • Andreas L Opdahl, University of Bergen
  • Henderik Proper, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST)
  • Colette Rolland, University of Paris 1 Pantheon-Sorbonne
  • Kurt Sandkuhl, The University of Rostock
  • Rainer Schmidt, Munich University of Applied Sciences
  • Christian Schweda, LeanIT42 GmbH
  • Ulrike Steffens, HAW Hamburg
  • Dirk Stelzer, TU Ilmenau
  • Stefan Strecker, University of Hagen
  • Pierre-Martin Tardif, Universite de Sherbrooke
  • Nils Urbach, University of Bayreuth