13th TEAR Workshop 2018, Stockholm

13th TEAR Workshop 2018, Stockholm

The 13th TEAR workshop is organized in conjunction with IEEE EDOC 2018, October 16-19, Stockholm, Sweden.

The international TEAR workshop series brings together Enterprise Architecture (EA) researchers from different research communities and provides a forum to present EA research results and to discuss future EA research directions.

The field of Enterprise Architecture (EA) has gained considerable attention over the last years. EA significantly contributes to organizations’ need to adapt increasingly fast to changing customer requirements and business goals. This need influences the entire chain of activities of an enterprise, from business processes to IT support. Moreover, a change in one component of the overall architecture may influence many other components of the architecture. For example, when a new product is introduced, business processes for production, sales, and after-sales need to be adapted. It may be necessary to change applications, or even adapt the IT infrastructure. Each of these fields will have its own (partial) architectures. To keep the enterprise architecture coherent and aligned with the business goals, the relations between these different architectures must be explicit, and a change should be carried through in all architectures. In contrast to traditional architecture management approaches such as IT architecture, software architecture, or IS architecture, EA explicitly incorporates “pure” business-related artifacts in addition to traditional IS/IT artifacts. For Enterprise Architecture the focus is on the overall enterprise and concerns its organization, its components, the relationship between components, and principles governing its design and evolution.


Topics relevant for submissions include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • EA management and impact
    (e.g. drivers, governance, obstacles and measurement)
  • EA and decision-making
    (e.g. analysis, investigation and collaboration)
  • EA modelling
    (e.g. reference models, viewpoints, quality and tools)
  • EA and digitization
    (e.g. models, impact and digital transformation)
  • EA and related disciplines
    (e.g. BPM, project management and software engineering)
  • EA research approaches
    (methodologies and theories)
  • EA Cases and implementation
    (case studies and business cases)


The TEAR program can be found here.

Notes from TEAR breakout session on Harmonisation of EAM and agile methods.

Important dates

Workshop paper submission deadline: June 8, 2018 June 22, 2018
Workshop paper notification to authors: July 20, 2018
Camera-ready paper: August 10, 2018
Workshop: October 16, 2018


Papers should describe innovative and significant original research relevant to TEAR as described in the topics section. Papers submitted for consideration must not have been published elsewhere and must not be under review or submitted for review elsewhere during the duration of consideration.

Workshop papers will be published in a second volume of the EDOC 2018 conference proceedings.

All papers must be prepared in accordance with the IEEE double-column format (maximum 8 pages) and be submitted electronically (in PDF) via the submission website.

All submissions should include title, authors, and full contact information. Detailed instructions for authors are available on the IEEE website.

Workshop co-chairs

  • Ulrik Franke, Swedish Institute of Computer Science (RISE SICS), Stockholm, Sweden
  • Jürgen Jung, Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences, Germany
  • Markus Buschle, Zeb.consulting, Sweden

Steering committee

  • Erik Proper, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), Luxembourg
  • Florian Matthes, Fakultät für Informatik, Technische Universität München, Germany
  • James Lapalme, École de technologie supérieure, Canada
  • João Paulo Almeida, Federal University of Espírito Santo, Brazil
  • Marc Lankhorst, BiZZdesign, the Netherlands
  • Mathias Ekstedt, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Pontus Johnson, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Stephan Aier, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland

Program committee

  • Stephan Aier, University of St. Gallen
  • João Paulo Almeida, Federal University of Espirito Santo
  • Giuseppe Berio, Université de Bretagne Sud
  • Markus Borg, Swedish Institute of Computer Science (RISE SICS)
  • Nacer Boudjlida, Université de Lorraine, LORIA
  • Sabine Buckl, Technische Universität München
  • Neo Bui, Rochester Institute of Technolog
  • Markus Buschle, Zeb.consulting, Sweden
  • François Coallier, École de technologie supérieure
  • Sybren de Kinderen, University of Duisburg-Essen
  • Paul Drews, Leuphana University of Lüneburg
  • Mathias Ekstedt, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Hans-Georg Fill, University of Vienna
  • Ulrik Franke, Swedish Institute of Computer Science (RISE SICS)
  • Daniel Fürstenau, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Aurona Gerber, CAIR, University of Pretoria
  • Vassilios Goumas, Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences
  • Jānis Grabis, Riga Technical University
  • Kazem Haki, University of St. Gallen
  • Maria-Eugenia Iacob, University of Twente
  • Pontus Johnson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Jürgen Jung, Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences
  • Elena Kornyshova, CNAM
  • Robert Lagerström, KTH the Royal Institute of Technology
  • Fabian Lang, Talanx Systeme
  • Marc Lankhorst, BiZZdesign
  • Christine Legner, University of Lausanne
  • Peter Loos, IWi at DFKI, Saarland University
  • Pericles Loucopoulos, The University of Manchester
  • Florian Matthes, Technische Universität München
  • Alexandre Moise, Université de Sherbrooke
  • Agnes Nakakawa, Makerere University Kampala
  • Selmin Nurcan, Université de Paris 1 Panthéon – Sorbonne
  • Andreas L Opdahl, University of Bergen
  • Henderik Proper, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST)
  • Colette Rolland, University of Paris 1 Pantheon-Sorbonne
  • Kurt Sandkuhl, The University of Rostock
  • William Schiano, Bentley University
  • Rainer Schmidt, Munich University of Applied Sciences
  • Christian Schweda, Allianz
  • Ulrike Steffens, HAW Hamburg
  • Dirk Stelzer, TU Ilmenau
  • Stefan Strecker, University of Hagen
  • Pierre-Martin Tardif, Universite de Sherbrooke
  • Nils Urbach, University of Bayreuth
  • Piotr Wójtowicz, DHL