15th TEAR Workshop 2020, Eindhoven

15th TEAR Workshop 2020, Eindhoven

The 15th TEAR workshop is organized in conjunction with IEEE EDOC 2020, October 5-8, Eindhoven, The Netherlands.

The international TEAR workshop series brings together Enterprise Architecture (EA) researchers from different research communities and provides a forum to present EA research results and to discuss future EA research directions.

The field of Enterprise Architecture (EA) has gained considerable attention over the last years. EA significantly contributes to organizations’ need to adapt increasingly fast to changing customer requirements and business goals. This need influences the entire chain of activities of an enterprise, from business processes to IT support. Moreover, a change in one component of the overall architecture may influence many other components of the architecture. For example, when a new product is introduced, business processes for production, sales, and after-sales need to be adapted. It may be necessary to change applications, or even adapt the IT infrastructure. Each of these fields will have its own (partial) architectures. To keep the enterprise architecture coherent and aligned with the business goals, the relations between these different architectures must be explicit, and a change should be carried through in all architectures. In contrast to traditional architecture management approaches such as IT architecture, software architecture, or IS architecture, EA explicitly incorporates “pure” business-related artifacts in addition to traditional IS/IT artifacts. For Enterprise Architecture the focus is on the overall enterprise and concerns its organization, its components, the relationship between components, and principles governing its design and evolution.


Topics relevant for submissions include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • EA management and impact
    (e.g. drivers, governance, obstacles and measurement)
  • EA and decision-making
    (e.g. model-based analysis and analytics, investigation and collaboration)
  • EA modelling
    (e.g. reference models, viewpoints, quality and tools)
  • EA and digitization
    (e.g. models, impact and digital transformation)
  • EA and related disciplines
    (e.g. strategic management, BPM, project management, enterprise security, and software engineering)
  • EA research approaches
    (methodologies and theories)
  • EA Cases and implementations
    (case studies and business/industry cases)

Important dates


Workshop paper submission deadline: August 16th, 2020
Workshop paper notification to authors: September 6th, 2020
Workshop Camera-ready papers: September 13th, 2020
Author registration: September 13th, 2020
Workshop: October 5th, 2020


Papers should describe innovative and significant original research relevant to TEAR as described in the topics section. Papers submitted for consideration must not have been published elsewhere and must not be under review or submitted for review elsewhere during the duration of consideration.

Workshop papers will be published in a second volume of the EDOC 2020 conference proceedings.

All papers must be prepared in accordance with the IEEE double-column format (maximum 8 pages) and be submitted electronically (in PDF) via the submission website.

All submissions should include title, authors, and full contact information. Detailed instructions for authors are available on the IEEE website.

Workshop co-chairs

  • Maria-Eugenia Iacob, University of Twente, The Netherlands
  • Ulrike Steffens, Oldenburg Research and Development Institute for Information Technology Tools and Systems, Germany

Steering committee

  • Erik Proper, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), Luxembourg
  • Florian Matthes, Fakultät für Informatik, Technische Universität München, Germany
  • James Lapalme, École de technologie supérieure, Canada
  • João Paulo Almeida, Federal University of Espírito Santo, Brazil
  • Marc Lankhorst, BiZZdesign, the Netherlands
  • Mathias Ekstedt, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Pontus Johnson, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Stephan Aier, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland

Program committee

  • Adina Aldea, University of Twente
  • Stephan Aier, University of St. Gallen
  • Joao Paulo Almeida, Federal University of Espirito Santo
  • Giuseppe Berio, Université de Bretagne Sud and IRISA UMR 6074
  • Markus Borg, RISE SICS AB
  • Q. Neo Bui, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Markus Buschle, zeb.consulting AB
  • François Coallier, École de technologie supérieure
  • Sybren De Kinderen, University of Luxembourg
  • Paul Drews, Leuphana University of Lüneburg
  • Mathias Ekstedt, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Ulrik Franke, RISE
  • Daniel Fürstenau, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Andreas Gadatsch, Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
  • Aurona Gerber, CAIR, University of Pretoria
  • Jānis Grabis, Riga Technical University
  • Simon Hacks, RWTH Aachen University
  • Kazem Haki, University of St. Gallen
  • Maria-Eugenia Iacob, University of Twente
  • Pontus Johnson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Jürgen Jung, Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences
  • Lutz Kirchner, Scape Consulting GmbH
  • Elena Kornyshova, CNAM
  • Robert Lagerström, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Fabian Lang, Hannover University of Applied Sciences and Arts
  • Marc Lankhorst, BiZZdesign
  • Peter Loos, IWi at DFKI, Saarland University
  • Florian Matthes, Technical University of Munich
  • Agnes Nakakawa, Makerere University Kampala
  • Andreas L Opdahl, University of Bergen
  • Henderik Proper, Public Research Centre Henri Tudor
  • Colette Rolland, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne
  • William Schiano, Bentley University
  • Rainer Schmidt, Munich University of Applied Sciences
  • Marten van Sinderen, University of Twente
  • Ulrike Steffens, HAW Hamburg
  • Dirk Stelzer, TU Ilmenau
  • Stefan Strecker, University of Hagen
  • Pierre-Martin, Tardif Universite de Sherbrooke
  • Ömer Uludag, Technical University of Munich
  • Piotr  Wójtowicz, DHL